Fun With Four: Part 5

Free Four: Tobias Tells the Divergent Knife-Throwing Scene

Veronica Roth

Rate: 4

There are people who have read this retelling of the knife-throwing scene and said that there’s no point in reading it because everything happens the same, as it should, but you don’t learn anything new. This is wrong. The actions are the same, but the meaning and feelings behind them are different. For example, as most of us already know, Tris thought Four purposely cut her ear just to hurt her, but he was actually trying to protect her. This is one of the differences you see when reading the same scene in different points of view.

Anyway, here are some of the things I learned about Four in this scene: (contains some spoilers)

  1. Four volunteered to train the initiates. For some reason, probably because of his low fear landscape number, I always thought that Four had been selected to train the initiates not that he wanted to. This little fact surprised me and made me curious as to why he would want to.
  2. Four isn’t as detached as he seems. “I try to act casual, scratching my eyebrow with a knife point, but I don’t feel casual. I feel like someone is pressing me into a mold that doesn’t fit my body, forcing me into the wrong shape.”
  3. He didn’t actually know Tris was Divergent. He just suspected so because of Eric’s observations and what had happened with Amar.
  4. Admits, to himself, of liking Tris before Tris admits to liking him.
  5. Four was going to leave Dauntless, but that all changed when Tris arrived. Imagine a story without Four #horror.

 

Reason why Part 5 came after Part 1: So almost all of my books, whether physical or e-book, come from the library. This is because most of my money goes to tuition, textbooks, and transportation and then any extra (ha!)  goes to food, clothes, and books. So when tackling this collection I put Four: A Divergent Story Collection on hold and then realized that the library had The Transfer and Free Four as e-books so I put those on hold too, determined that whichever came first I would read. Obviously, The Transfer and Free Four arrived before the overall collection so now I wait impatiently to read the other three stories.

Leave a Reply

