Yolo – Lauren Myracle

Yolo

Lauren Myracle

Rate: 3.5

Aside: I did read the other books in the Internet Girls series, I even have copies of the books somewhere in my house, but it’s been awhile since I last read the series. I say this to highlight that I won’t be comparing this book to the other ones in the series. I don’t remember them too clearly and I’m sure that rereading them now will spoil the fond memories I have of them.

  • Structure: First, I like the emojis on the cover. They’re ones that I use so the book immediately feels current and relatable. Plus, the back cover shows that each emoji pertains to a particular girl and is reflective of her experience. So if somehow I misread the story, the emojis are there to help out. 

Second, I would have preferred if Myracle had been a little more creative with her formatting. I understand it is extremely difficult to add things like Facebook photos or Snapchats, but the structure of texts could have differed from instant messaging. The book seems so plain since the girls reference when they’re texting versus other things, but that isn’t reflected in the structure. The grammar, spelling, emojis, and auto-correct “mistakes” make the story realistic, but the overall formatting could’ve been more creative to reflect the times.

  • Yolo: It takes time to write a story. I understand that, but yolo is a fad that has since passed and even though the message is still relevant, the use of the term is not. Myracle’s use of yolo is reminiscent of people of older generations trying to connect with the younger generation, but using the slang all wrong. Yolo may be used correctly here, but it seems so forced and outdated and desperate to be relevant. Isn’t there another way to get this message across without using a term that faded away as soon as it became popular?

  • The messages: I’m not talking about the messages Zoe, Maddie, and Angela send each other. I’m talking about the underlying messages of the story. Myracle hits the nail on the head when describing situations and scenarios college students go through. She shows that each person’s experience is different, but overall, you have to be proactive if you’re going to enjoy yourself. Myracle addresses these big topics in a light manner that does not deviate from the mood of the story or hinders its progress.

In all, Yolo is a good book and isn’t fluffy. It actually tackles tough topics and illustrates how some people get through those problems.

Leave a Reply

