Xoe – Sara C. Roethle

Xoe: Or Vampires, and Werewolves, and Demons, Oh My! (Xoe Meyers, 1)

Sara C. Roethle

Rate: 5

I enjoyed this story more than I expected. Especially since the way that it began made me think I was going to dread reading it, but that didn’t happen. The story is a quick read. I probably could’ve read it in one or two days if I didn’t have so much going it (it took me third days to finish). One thing that was prominent though in the story was the similarities between Xoe and Twilight. So if you’re not a fan of Twilight, you may be hesitant to read this book, but it’s not Twilight and it is good.

Xoe: Firstly, Xoe is not Bella. She’s the protagonist, but she’s not weak or clumsy or reactionary. Xoe is strong. She stands up for herself and her friends and will put herself in danger for them. She’s proactive. She’s not going to wait around for men, Max and Jason, to save the day. She goes out there and does it herself and saves their butts in the process. Xoe is the strong female character everyone wanted Bella to be. She does have one flaw though. Although she is hesitant to accept that Jason is a vampire,she never complains when he unnecessarily watchers her while she sleeps. I don’t know what’s wrong with Xoe and Bella, but I would freak out if I awoke to a vampire watching me sleep and wasn’t protecting me from an intruder. If a bad guy is on the loose, then by all means stand in a corner and make sure he doesn’t kill me. But once the bad guy is gone, get out of my room. Despite this flaw, Xoe is a protagonist worth reading about.

Dan: Dan is the bad guy. Dan is crazy. Dan sounds like he looks just like Jacob Black from Twilight. Seriously.

Out of all the ways to describe a werewolf, Roethle’s going to go with describing him like a Twilight character. This was upsetting. Luckily, he isn’t described often so if you focus solely on his personality, you’ll see there’s a difference between Dan and Jacob. I didn’t like Dan, but that’s to be expected since he’s the antagonist. What he has going for him, and what adds to the drama of the story, is that he’s crazy. There is no other way to describe it. He just is. Way to ruin the Jacob Black image Roethle.

Jason: Jason is Edward. Completely and irrefutably, he is Edward. Even though I like Jason, he is a disappointment. Following the cliché of Twilight, of course Jason has to fall for Xoe, and of course he wants to save the day without Xoe being involved. Of course he had a terrible past as a newborn vampire and he’s trying to atone for it now. He has to be old and speak differently and try to “woo” Xoe. He wouldn’t be a cliché vampire if he didn’t. The only thing Jason has going for him is that he doesn’t sparkle in the sun, which is a small consolation for his behavior.

I don’t understand why there’s so many similarities between Xoe and Twilight. There’s even a part about blueberry muffins! Was it suppose to be a published fanfiction of Twilight? I don’t know. All I can say is that if you ignore the similarities between the two books, Xoe is better.

Leave a Reply

