Made for You – Melissa Marr

Side Note: So this post was originally scheduled for next Saturday, but I wanted to express my appreciation for all my readers so I decided to post this early. I just wanted to say Happy Thanksgivings to all my American viewers and say that I’m truly grateful for all of you (American and otherwise) who take the time out of your day to view my blog. Thanks! 😀 ❤

Made for You

Melissa Marr

Rate: 4

I’m going to try to make this post as clear as possible, but every time I try to think about what I like about this book and what I dislike, I begin to confuse myself so hopefully that doesn’t come across in this post.

Firstly, the story is told in multiple POVs with the two main POVs being Eva (the protagonist) and Judge (the criminal). This stood out to me because it reminded me of Criminal Minds, in which a team of FBI agents try to understand a criminal’s thoughts in order to catch him or her. In Made for You, Marr provides the criminal’s, Judge’s, POV and boy is it creepy. Only a truly twisted mind would think trying to kill someone would make him/her pure and that sacrificing others would make a person be interested in him. Marr’s writing in Judge’s POV was amazing and even though it freaked me out, I gobbled it up and still wanted more.

On the other hand, I didn’t like the fantasy aspect of the novel. Instead of giving Eva a supernatural so she could solve the case and catch the bad guy, Marr could have simply made her smarter. From Judge’s perspective, I learn that he sends Eva clues that she’s “supposed to” understand since they reference work she did in school. However, while Eva may be doing fine in school, it’s not something that’s in the forefront of her mind so she doesn’t pick up on it. At one point, she does entertain the idea that these insignificant objects might be important, but she doesn’t follow through with it and instead relies heavily on her supernatural ability. Marr could have easily made this story a realistic fiction by keeping out the fantasy and simply making Eva smarter or more aware. This is the main reason this novel isn’t a five for me.

For now this is it, I could have sworn that I had more to say, but right now all I can think about are the tiny things that made me dislike the story, but I know that I really like it. For the most part, I like this book because of Judge’s part and finding out who Judge is. It really proves that anyone you know can be a criminal and maybe even that all of us have a little crazy in us, but most of us can control it.

Leave a Reply

