Fairy Tale Retellings Series

Hey guys, so I had so much fun doing the Fun With Four Series that I’ve decided to do another: Fairy Tale Retellings (as the title of this post suggested). However, this series won’t be as simple and predictable as the Four series, in which almost all of the stories came from Four: A Divergent Story Collection. Instead, I’ll get my inspiration from Epic Reads’ 162 Young Adult Retellings infographic. Yet I won’t be reading every book from the Fairy Tale section of the infographic. Actually, I’ve set guideline for myself so that I’m not taking too much time away from my normal TBR list and so I won’t be forcing myself to read books I have no interest in. The guidelines are:

  • No rereading books I’ve already read.
  • No books that have been published before 2007. This may seem random books that seem old and irrelevant at this book. I don’t have anything against older books, but in trying to catch up with all the books I’ve missed I’ll take away time from the awesome books being released.
  • Have in interest in the book.

So I didn’t force too many guidelines on myself, but they did cut the list a bunch.

On another note, I won’t be starting this series until the new year. I know, why announce a new review series almost a month before I’m going to start it? I’m just so excited! This is an idea I’ve been contemplating for a while and I’ve just recently decided that I’m going to do it. Hopefully this seems interesting to you too (at least a little bit).

(Side Note: I added the picture above because I loved Big Hero 6 after watching it and when I first saw this picture on Facebook, I thought it was perfect.)

The following are the various Fairy Tale categories and how many books I’ll be taking from each:

  • Beauty and the Beast (2)
  • Cinderella (4)
  • Hansel and Gretel (2)
  • Rapzunel (1)
  • Rumpelstiltskin (2)
  • Snow White (1)
  • Sleeping Beauty (1)
  • The Frog Prince (2)
  • The Little Mermaid (1)
  • The Snow Queen (1)

As you can see, I’ve reduced the big Epic Reads list to 17 books. Lastly, I won’t be going in order so don’t expect two Beauty and the Beast reviews followed by four Cinderella reviews. Plus, as you can tell, I’m not revealing which books I’m reviewing so it’ll be a surprise until they’re up.

Leave a Reply

