No Place Like Oz – Danielle Paige

No Place Like Oz (Dorothy Must Die #0.1)

Danielle Paige

Rate: 3.5

Normally, I don’t bother reading prequels because I don’t care how the world in the first book  came to be, but I made an except for this one. I just needed to know how Dorothy went from being the sweet girl at the end of The Wizard of Oz to the evil queen in Dorothy Must Die. I predicted it had something to do with the red shoes and I was right! However, while Paige shows Dorothy’s descent into evilness, she doesn’t explain how Oz became so corrupt. Maybe this will be explained in another prequel book or later in the series, but for now I’m left without an answer.

Dorothy’s Shoes: The only thing I’m going to say about Dorothy’s shoes is that the way they look in the movie and the way they’re described in book are completely different. Befittingly, I equate the first image with innocence and the second with, well, not innocence.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dorothy’s Voice: In the beginning of the novella, Paige tries too hard to make Dorothy sound like a “true” Kansasian. The accent just isn’t genuine and seems very forced. The story gets much better when Paige simply drops the accent. Secondly, I disliked how Dorothy went about addresses her aunt and uncle. I would have understood if Dorothy progressed from calling them Aunt Em and Uncle Henry to Em/Emily and Henry, but going back and forth in the story seemed disrespectful and improper. I know I’m not allowed to refer to my aunt and uncles without a proper title otherwise it comes across as rude so I don’t see how Dorothy slips in some places.

Overall, I enjoyed the story even though left more questions unanswered than answered, such as: Why was Dorothy brought back to Oz? What are Glinda’s true motives? How did Oz become so twisted? Did Dorothy always have some darkness in her or was it only the shoes that turned her evil?

One thought on “No Place Like Oz – Danielle Paige

  1. I am a huge WOO fan, and too always found the differences between the book and the movie a bit over-the-top. I too am not a huge fan of prequels, just because I feel like the author decided after the fact to tell you the “whole” story.

Leave a Reply

