From a Distant Star – Karen McQuestion

From a Distant Star

Karen McQuestion

Rate: 2.85 (Don’t question it. Just accept this is how I feel.)

I received this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

This story in a nutshell:

The essence of an alien possess Lucas, Emma’s boyfriend, and cures him of cancer.

 

But Emma wants her boyfriend back so she and not-Lucas, Scout, go on a road trip to get some help.

A lot of drama happens and they meet people, both good and bad, but it’s YA so the story ends with Emma and Lucas riding off into the sunset.

What I liked about the story:

  • The ending: I’m a sucker for a happy ending and for a moment it didn’t seem like Emma was going to get hers. I like that things were able to back to how they used to be.
  • Scout: Scout reminded me of Oh from the Home movie trailer. Everything was new to him, but still he learned and adapted to Earthen ways. I also loved that in the end, Scout understood that while his alien race may be intellectually superior to humans, humans are emotionally superior to the aliens because they feel a greater variety of emotions and feel them more intensely. It’s interesting to see Scout grow as a person/alien during the book.

What I didn’t like about the story:

  • Everything else: Just about everything else in this book irked me. I knew from when the story began in the dog’s POV that I wasn’t going to love it, but I was going for a mild like. Everything from the events to the characters bothered me in some way so I found myself either sighing or rolling my eyes. I can’t even pinpoint what exactly bothered me, but I didn’t like it. The writing style wasn’t bad so that’s not a factor. But everything except the two points about caused me to give this story such a weird rating. Like I sat here trying to decide what to rate this book. I knew it was better than 2.75, but less than 3.00. Going down the number line, 2.85 just felt right.

4 thoughts on “From a Distant Star – Karen McQuestion

  1. I’m a big believer in honest reviews. If everything is the best, then how do you choose? Some of the best book discussions are about books people didn’t enjoy! Or even better, when half the group loved a book and the other half did not!

    • I agree. Sometimes great book discussions and analyses come from disagreement. My only problem is finding people who have read the same books as I have (especially when they’re fresh in my mind) and translating my enthusiasm for a book (good or bad) into my writing.

Leave a Reply

