Shadowhunters Casting News: Jocelyn

Someone has been picked to play Clary’s mom, Jocelyn, and it’s Maxim Roy. While I don’t have anything to say about Roy – she looks like a mom so I don’t see anything wrong – the casting of the Jocelyn role in general has watered my seed of worry of how closely Shawdowhunters will follow The Mortal Instruments.

I kept intentionally ignoring the fact that ABC Family has aged Clary up for the show because it doesn’t seem like that big of a deal. I ignored how the synopsis seemed very different from the book because maybe the producers were unsure of how to word it without giving things away. I didn’t research much about the roles of each character because I’m afraid they will be vastly different from their book counterpart. But with the casting of Roy, I can’t pushing down my seed of worry anymore and I can’t hide my head under my pillow and pretend things aren’t changing.

With the casting of Roy, I learned that Jocelyn will no longer be a painter, she’s now the owner of an antiquities store. It’s not a large or important detail, but now I question whether Jocelyn will be put into a coma like in the book and how much time will be spent on flashbacks or casting  Clary as a normal girl. If it’s so important that ABC Family changes Jocelyn’s job, then how important is it that they change her involvement in the story? Will Jocelyn have a bigger presence now than in the books?

Additionally, the article I read describes Clary as “a human-angel hybrid who forms a band of supernatural misfits with whom she hunts demons,” which makes Clary sound more like a member of the Mystery Gang from Scooby-Doo than a girl trying to learn more about the Shadowhunter world while saving her mom and downworlders.

Am I overthinking things? Is this just another instance of books not being able to be exactly transferred over into the TV and movie realm? Should I just wait for the show to air before complaining about how much ABC Family may or may not be deviating from the books?

Leave a Reply

