Boywatching: Trying to Read a Book That Isn’t Meant for Me

Boywatching

Chloe Bennet

Rate: 1/DNF

I received this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Let me start off by explaining what I mean by “meant for me.” By “meant for me,” I don’t me books that are targeted towards my age group. I don’t subscribe to the notion that you should read your age. I believe that everyone should read what interests them regardless of to whom it’s targeted. By “meant for me,” I mean that in the grand scheme of things, I don’t think I was supposed to get into/enjoy this book. From the very beginning, and I only finished 20% so that’s saying much, I just couldn’t focus on Boywatching. I constantly checking my phone or watching Youtube videos or read reviews for other books because I couldn’t get into this book. A number of times, I found myself putting this book down to pick up another book and enjoy that book more. I guess what I’m trying to explain is that my rating isn’t reflective of the quality of Boywatching but instead highlights my inability to sink into the book’s world and enjoy the tale. If you’re trying to decide whether or not to read Boywatching, you should read additional reviews on Goodreads (Click on the title above) to get a better feel of the book.

Reasons Why I Couldn’t Get Into Boywatching

  1. Chloe, the narrator and the protagonist, sounded more like a middle schooler than a high schooler. This made all of her “problems” sound extra trivial.
  2. I couldn’t establish a clear timeline. I think the story goes: there’s a school event, Chloe and her friends are humiliated at the event, and then decide that they are going to change their approach so they aren’t humiliated next year. But I’m not too sure. I think the sequence of events are supposed to be weeks and months apart that they seemed more like hours and days apart. I just couldn’t figure out what was going on.
  3. (I’m going to preface this next point by reiterating that I read an e-ARC of this story and the following error might not be present in the final version of the book.) Every “fl” and “fi” was missing. It didn’t matter if the letter combinations came at the beginning, middle or end of a word, but they were all missing. For example, fly became y, stiffly became stify, and benefit became benet.   Not only could these errors be annoying at times, but they also made reading difficult at times.

All in all, I can’t tell you to read Boywatching or not to read it. Not finishing it is my fault and not the author’s so I can’t really be a qualified judge of the story.

Leave a Reply

