Girlgoyle By Better Hero Army

Girlgoyle

Better Hero Army

Rate: 1/DNF

I received a copy of this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Similar to the few other books I did not finish (DNF), my rating is not a reflection of the quality of the story, but a reflection of my inability to engage with the book. I finished about 19% of Girlgoyle. The story began very slow and for some time I was confused about what was going on since Tiffany goes from being alive to dead to sort of alive in some limbo realm. That part, which should have been fleshed out better, went really fast and was, therefore, really confusing.

However, my main reason for not finishing Girlgoyle was simply that I couldn’t get into it. I picked up and put down Girlgoyle so many times that I finished two other books and was about to start a third when I realized that the probability of me finishing it anytime soon would be slim. And I’d rather not have it looming over my head causing me to dislike it simply because I know I have to read it, but I haven’t.

The one comment I will make about the story itself is about the art. Because of the art, and the young age of the protagonist, I think this story is best for early teens. Unlike the art presented in Colleen Hoover’s Confess, which is used to illustrate a part of the story that cannot be easily expressed in words, the art in Girlgoyle is a visual aide to help with the imagining of scenes and the setting. The art in Girlgoyle reminds me of the art included in chapter books for elementary students to help them understand and visualize characters interacting. The art in Girlgoyle isn’t a bad thing, but it caused me to conclude that this story may be better for a younger audience.

To summarize, I couldn’t get in Girlgoyle because I thought the story’s pace was too slow and the art within the story makes me think that it is good for early teens to read.

Leave a Reply

