November 9 by Colleen Hoover

November 9

Colleen Hoover

Rate: 3.5

I think I may have overhyped this book in my head. I think somewhere during the wait for the book to be published I convinced myself that since I loved Confess and Maybe Someday, I just had to love November 9. It was to be Hoover’s newest masterpiece. But somewhere along the line something happened. I like it. But I don’t love it. And maybe that has something to do with me. Because everyone else is loving it. So why not me.

November 9 captured my attention from the very first sentence. Within the first few pages, I just figured I would love it. But that obviously didn’t happen. I don’t know where exactly I stopped loving or “really like”-ing the story, but something I know for sure is that the first November 9th is my favorite. Maybe that’s where I stopped loving the book. Maybe every other November 9th failed to live up to the beauty and newness and magical-ness of the first November 9th. The characters weren’t bad, but as the years passed and they grew and changed, their dynamic grew and change until I could no longer see the happy, joking couple I fell in love with in the beginning. I didn’t expect Ben and Fallon to remain the same forever, but they changed so much. <Semi Spoiler Alert> Fallon’s mother was right: a person does change a lot between eighteen and twenty-three. <End of spoiler>

Continue reading