Experience Needed: Shattered by Laurie Faria Stolarz

Shattered (The Amanda Project #3)

Laurie Faria Stolarz

Rate: 2.5

If I admit that I don’t remember this story, does that make me a bad reader? I finished this book only a few days ago (at the time I’m writing this, different from its posting date) and I barely remember what happened in the story. Similar to the last book, Shattered left no impression on me. There’s no reason to rant, no reason to rave. I’m beginning to realize that the only point of The Amanda Project is to find Amanda.

Erica, but that’s the point of the mystery, to find the person.

I know, but this is different. Most mystery stories provide readers with logical clues and a suspect list so that they can guess at who committed the crime and have the answer revealed at the end. But the Amanda Project isn’t like that. It’s structured more like The Calling by James Frey: readers are given clues that they can use outside of reading the book for a more interactive experience. I knew the Amanda Project was a book-website interactive experience during its publishing, but I didn’t realize how flat the story was on its own. For example, Shattered doles out just enough clues and mystery to pique interest and the plot is streamlined enough to reduce confusion, but the book itself has no problem and solution other than the problem and solution of the series. Shattered is like when a few people are recounting a wild adventure to a group, each person says bits of the story from his/her perspective, but the whole story doesn’t make sense until they’re all done talking. Being the third book in the series, Shattered switches to a third perspective (Nia’s) and picks up from where the last to stories left off. Shattered gives the reader just enough mystery to hold him/her until the fourth book where it will finally be revealed what happened to Amanda.

Anyway, all of this is to say that there’s no point in reading the Amanda Project without the interactive experience. This won’t affect my reading of the last book since I already started it, but I wonder how this realization will impact my reading of the Endgame series.

6 thoughts on “Experience Needed: Shattered by Laurie Faria Stolarz

  1. If you knew this, why didn’t you do the website bit too and get the fully experience? It sounds preferable to just reading the book, if the book version of the story is so forgettable. I hope the final book is a better experience for you!

  2. Hi there! I just wanted to say that I really enjoyed this blog post of yours… Not just this one but all of them because they are all equally great.

    I should mention that because of how much I loved this post of yours I had to check out your blog and I couldn’t help but follow you because your blog is both amazing and beautiful. I am so happy I came across your blog and found it because I do really love it and I truly can’t wait to read more from you, so keep it up (:

    P.s. This comment is towards all of your blog posts because they are all equally amazing and incredible, keep up the great work (:

Leave a Reply

