Incomplete Review: PS I Like You

Note: I found the following rant to review in my Drafts folder and decided to publish what I had because I knew I’d never get around to finishing it and I didn’t want to delete what was already written.

Alternative Title: Is it possible that I read too much?: A Rant and a Review

Rant

I try my best to give every book its fair chance. To judge it on its qualities -and, in the case of a series, its companions – and not on its relation to other stories – other than to say if you enjoyed A, you may enjoy B – and not based on how my life is going at the time. However, reading doesn’t occur in a vacuum and sometimes I can’t stop my prior experiences from influencing my perception of a story. This isn’t necessarily a bad thing since experience can help foster deeper connections with a story, but it can also lead to quickly judging the story instead of enjoying the adventure.

I’m not sure if I’m making any sense, but I guess what I want you to take away from this is: 

P.S. I Like You may be a good story, but I couldn’t get past all of the pieces that would normally cause me to go on a rant during my everyday life so I had to stop reading it.

Review

PS I Like You
Kasie West
Rate: DNF

Synopsis

While spacing out in chemistry class, Lily scribbles some of her favorite song lyrics onto her desk. The next day, she finds that someone has continued the lyrics on the desk and added a message to her. Intrigue!

Soon, Lily and her anonymous pen pal are exchanging full-on letters—sharing secrets, recommending bands, and opening up to each other. Lily realizes she’s kind of falling for this letter writer. Only, who is he? As Lily attempts to unravel the mystery and juggle school, friends, crushes, and her crazy family, she discovers that matters of the heart can’t always be spelled out…

Goodreads.com

Predictable Ending?

Obviously I didn’t finish the book so I don’t know how it ended, but I’m guessing that Lily comes to assume that Lucas is her secret pen pal, finds out it’s actually Cade, has a bunch of emotional turmoil, and decides to date Cade anyway. Please let me know if I’m wrong. I’d love to be wrong about this. Tell me she ends up single or with Lucas.

Kasie West is a formulaic YA Romance author, which isn’t a bad thing. It means that all protagonists are guaranteed a happily ever after, usually via a romantic relationship. However, this means that the differences between her books come from character profiles and setting, not from plot. This is great if you want to binge-read a genre type, but terrible if you’re looking for engaging plot and not same plot different person.

Bullies Not Lovers

What bothered me so much about PS I Like You was the idea that Lily may end up with someone that bullies her. I know enemies-to-lovers is a subgenre of romance and I’ve enjoyed them myself at times. However, in those instances the contention and power between the two people are equal. They may hate each other in the beginning and be super rude to one another, but there’s no point when one person will actually say or do something that will hurt the other person. In other words, frustration and annoyance versus tears and hurt. I didn’t see the same, typical flow occurring between Lily and Cade so I couldn’t dare to read it.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.