I’ve Got Your Number

I’ve Got Your Number
Sophie Kinsella
Rate: DNF

Synopsis

Poppy Wyatt has never felt luckier. She is about to marry her ideal man, Magnus Tavish, but in one afternoon her “happily ever after” begins to fall apart. Not only has she lost her engagement ring in a hotel fire drill but in the panic that follows, her phone is stolen. As she paces shakily around the lobby, she spots an abandoned phone in a trash can. Finders keepers! Now she can leave a number for the hotel to contact her when they find her ring. Perfect!
Well, perfect except that the phone’s owner, businessman Sam Roxton, doesn’t agree. He wants his phone back and doesn’t appreciate Poppy reading his messages and wading into his personal life.
What ensues is a hilarious and unpredictable turn of events as Poppy and Sam increasingly upend each other’s lives through emails and text messages. As Poppy juggles wedding preparations, mysterious phone calls, and hiding her left hand from Magnus and his parents . . . she soon realizes that she is in for the biggest surprise of her life.

Goodreads.com

Review

Poppy

Unfortunately, this book was a DNF for me. Poppy reminded me too much of Becky from Confessions of a Shopaholic. While the Shopaholic series was endearing when I was younger, I now find that personality type annoying. I understand that people have their quirks, but I don’t find it charming when someone continuously lies to try to get themselves out of a lie and people go along with it like there’s nothing strange about the person’s behavior.

Romance

I don’t know what the romance is like in this book but I couldn’t get past Poppy’s shallow, self-centered personality to see through to the end. I’m sure the engagement would have been called off and Poppy would have somehow ended up with Sam, but I don’t know how it played out in the book.

Footnotes

I thought the footnotes were cute in the beginning, but they quickly got annoying. I thought it was Kinsella’s way of showing how someone who doesn’t understand footnotes would use footnotes, which I thought was cute. But then it felt like a waste of time going to the footnote, reading it, and then going back to the story because usually the footnote wasn’t worth the time.

Yay or Nay?

I don’t recommend reading I’ve Got Your Number.

One thought on “I’ve Got Your Number

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.